The Day After Thanksgiving

Saturday, November 26, 2005
The Day After Thanksgiving

It’s been a busy couple of days.  I’ve taken numerous shots of washouts and other thanksgiving events.

On the day after Thanksgiving, I left Holly, Mark, Luke, sister Betty, and brother-in-law Cliff to decorate the house for the Holidays while I went out Lutak Road to shoot the destruction done by the recent flooding which was quite extensive. An Excavator was busy doing culvert work while I was there and a few other people should up to check out the scene.

Next I went to Marilyn’s rental house where diverted water from the Mud bay road closure added tons of rocks and debris to the yard and water soaked the house interior. I asked her, “Did the rocks come down all at once, or did it come gradually?”

She said, “It started around 6 pm, when it was pitch dark and raining outside.  The water came into the house.  I tried to squeegee it out for a while, but just couldn’t keep up with it after a while….  I heard the rocks tumbling down the hill all night… I had to go upstairs to get some sleep…  Most of the water is gone now but earlier I had to wear my boots and the water was up to here… (indicating a place about half-way to the knee.”

Wow what a mess.  The fire wood in the wood shed was washed out to the beach and further, then it was replaced by 4-6 feet of rock and stone.  It’s mind boggling to contemplate the tonnage of rocks moved by that little stream.  The van next to the house was nearly burried.

Later that night, we went to the Lighting of the Library.  I took pictures, Holly entertained the kids, and Cliff and Betty looked after the boys. I’m going to try to line up more portraits for the December 10th sitting at the Library.

Luke is asleep now, and everyone else is out on a walk.

Leave a Reply

