One more basketball weekend

Wednesday, February 22, 2006
One more basketball weekend

From what I can tell, there’s just one basketball weekend left.  It’s been a good season and I’ve learned a lot, photographically.  I still haven’t gotten the wire that’s supposed to connect a 20D to the Pocketwizard, so I haven’t done any behind the backboard shots, which I really wanted to do this year.  And I haven’t put any strobes in the ceiling to bring in more light.  Maybe next year.  I need to do some research on the strobes anyway and how they’d work in a permanent install.

The new 30D has been announced and it looks like an incremental upgrade, at this point, which is enough to have me buy it as a new main camera before too long I like the more durable shutter, as I’m on my second shutter with my current 20D.  The wife says I need to finish my taxes first, so I suppose I’ll be starting on this weekend.

The main thing that canon has come out with which would interest me is the new standard zoom lens: EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS.  This would be an ideal lens for me and I’m very interested in the lens reviews that will soon be hitting the websites to see if it performs as well, optically, as the venerable EF 24-70 f/2.8 L which has been my main lens these past two years.

Leave a Reply

