Teaching Mark to Count by halves

The other day while we were out on a drive to take some pictures up at the eagle preserve, I heard Mark counting: “one, one and a half, two, two and a half, three, three and a half, four… ” and on up he went to ten.

I said to Holly, “Are you hearing this?”

“Yeah.  He’s counting by halves. Isn’t that wild?”

Then I said, “Wow. When did you teach hiim that?”

“I didn’t teach him halves.  He must have picked it up somewhere else.”

So I asked him, “Mark, who taught you to count by halves?”

He said, “Lydia.”

‘Lydia,’ I thought, how could this be? “Lydia who?”

“Lydia Green.” He said. 

“Wow.  How’d she do that?”  Lydia, I know is can’t really talk yet very much, and I’m

pretty sure she can’t count.  Don’t get me wrong, she’s a great kid.
Holly said, “Oh, of course.  Lydia Green is one and a half years old.”

“Yeah, but how did she teach him how to count by halves?  Can she even talk?” I said.
“No, no, no.  Mark was wondering how Luke and Lydia could both be one year old, and yet Lydia could do so much more than Luke, and I explained that it was because one and a half but Luke was just one.”

“Cool”. I thought.  My boy can count by halves.

Leave a Reply

