Mark is sicker than a dog…

Mark was sick all day yesterday, throwing up regularly, I hear.  He vomitted once while I was home–blueberries.  From across the room, in the bottom of the pan, they actually looked kind of good…

Let’s not think about that.


I got a new HD in the mail yesterday.  It’s the new 750 GB seagate drive–so far, I have no complaints at all and would highly recommend it to anyone needing gobs of storage.  It initialized and formatted with no problems.  I formatted it using NTFS, which is by far my favorite file system, as it is much easier to recover files from and also is much quicker to defrag than FAT or FAT32.

Since my computer has an ExpressCard slot instead of the misnamed legacy PCMCIA slot of yesteryear, I had to get some new peripherals so I got to expresscard adapters.  One came in the mail yesterday and is a two port eSATA adapter which allows speeds much faster than USB 2.0.  I moved 54 gigs over to the drive in about two hours and five minutes using ACDSee, which is not a good way to test the raw speed, since the thumbs are being created simultaneously, I believe.

The external case I go for the drive was an Azio eSATA + USB 2.0 Aluminum housing which, SO FAR, I can freely recommend.  In the package was included the AC-adapter, a nice flexible USB 2.0 cable, and also a thick two ended eSATA cable that seems to have sheilding built in.  The eSATA connectors seem a bit more robust than either firewire or USB cables: and that’s a good thing.  I bought the package on ebay for $320 with shipping.

Holly wanted me to stay home and help with the boys so I wasn’t able to go to church choir practice.

Leave a Reply

