I ordered a Tablet PC!

Well, Actually, I won an auction for a used Motion Computing LE1600, Centrino.

ScreenHunter_03 Mar. 18 13.58 When I was at the ASTE 2008 Conference, I attended a session by Mike Truskovsky from GoldenView Middle School in Anchorage and was astounded at the ease with which he was able to lecture, and demonstrate Algebra I skills using his wireless tablet PC. I just had to get one to try it out.

The latest model the Motion Computing has out is the LE1700, and it is a fine machine: Core 2 Duo, 4 gigs of ram (max), 60 gig HD (max), ViewAnywhere display, high resolution etc. I didn’t have the money for the latest generation but was fine with getting a Pentium M machine (Centrino chipset), as the battery life is quite acceptable. The final auction price (including shipping) was $641: 1.5 Ghz, 512 MB, 30 GB HD, Bluetooth keyboard, Bluetooth Mouse, and AC adapter (and hopefully the recovery disks) were included in the price.

I want to use Windows Journal to write the notes and Windows OneNote to organize them (if that will still allow me to post the notes online). Hopefully, I’ll be able to get students in some of the classes to present lessons too.

When it gets here (UPS), I’ll write another post about how well it works.

2 Responses

  1. John Charles goes to Goldenview Middle School. I wonder if that is his teacher?
    BR

  2. I asked John Charles about this after meeting Mr. Truskovsky and he said no, but I don’t remember his teacher’s name. Also, John’s teacher teaches 7th grade, and Mr. T teaches 8th.

    But John did say that his teacher does use the tablets and that he really likes them.

    Thanks the comments and the subscription.

    MDD

Leave a Reply

