Notes are online…

My MS OneNote 2007 Class Notes are online!

I’m so excited about it, I can NOT believe it.

One of my goals for technology in my classroom this year was to get my class notes and assignments all online on a daily basis for my classroom.  For me, this was a big goal, because math text is notoriously difficult to handle on the web without using a lot of mouse clicks and specialized software.

Thanks to Ken Heiret (Holly’s Brother-in-law), I now have the notes uploaded to my folder on his server and viewable to the world.  This is so exciting, I can’t believe it.  I’ve wanted to do this for about 2-3 months now, and I finally got it done.

Here’s the link: CLICK HERE!!! It looks like this, if you follow the link.

OneNote site photo

One of the things that strikes me almost immediately, is that I need the opening page to be compelling and more general for people that might find the site that aren’t my students.  I’m think there could be an introduction page that has general facts about me and perhaps a picture or two of my classroom and the school.

Looking at the structure of the site, we can see that the tabs at the top are the tabs for the individual classes:

OneNote site tabs at the top

OneNote lesson tabsThe tabs down the side are links for the “Assignments” and the “Lesson Notes” for particular lessons.

I  really like the interface in many ways.

  1. It’s really easy to find the notes for any day in class for any lesson and they are automatically filed by date. 
  2. There is an assignment sheet at the top of each page.  Plus it’s an easy upload.  At the end of the day, I convert all the
  3. notes to mhtp files, then I upload them to the server. 
  4. The whole process of getting the notes online takes about 20 minutes at the end of the day and a few mouse clicks. 
  5. I access the server using Windows Remote Desktop.
  6. The notes are viewable by anyone using Internet Explorer 7 and connected to the Internet.
  7. Students can visit the page to find the assignments for the week or look at the notes in that have been given.

Some things I’d like better are:

  1. if the graph paper background was also uploaded with the files so that it would appear under the notes, just like it does in class, that would improve the look of the graphs.
  2. If I could imbed web links in the pages, that’d be wonderful for making links to web resources.
  3. If there were some way to make the site interactive without requiring a purchase of OneNote, which is unavailable for Mac. 
  4. More than half my students use Mac laptops and almost none of them have OneNote.
  5. If my handwriting were better, then the pages would look better.
  6. If the files uploaded were a bit smaller, then the pages would load quicker.
  7. If the files would be viewable on Safari and Firefox, then all the students could view them.  I’m sure there are workarounds for this, but I don’t know what they are yet.
  8. It’d be nice if I could replace the big ad for OneNote 2007 with a .jpeg of me in my classroom, or of the school, or some other picture.

Right now the pages that are uploaded are all .png files, which are compressed image files, and have about the same resolution as a standard FAX–not the greatest, but legible.

One workaround for getting the graph paper would be to put an image of some graph paper on the page I’m writing on and then do the graphs on the image of the graph paper.  For now, I’m simply making the graphs a little more detailed than I might normally do since by putting in more of the coordinates for the points along the x and y axes.

As soon as I got it done, I was on the phone with Jack and he was trying to view the notes and he couldn’t because he was not using Internet Explorer 7. 

One Response

  1. I have discovered OneNote about a year ago, when I was working on a new web developing project.
    The project was demanding for research and collecting information from many resources.
    OneNote was the perfect solution for us.

    Today we use only OneNote for our web developing projects and research.

    Thank you for the interesting post.
    Happy to learn new things every day.

    Amit

Leave a Reply

