Betty & Cliff!

Hey.

I got to see Betty and Cliff in Sitka for about 20 minutes on the way back from Nashville.  My Cellular Telephone was dead, so I went up to first class seating while we were in Ketchikan and asked one of the guys up there if I could borrow his phone.  He looked at me rather skeptically until I pulled my own cell phone out and told him my battery was dead, then he asked me the number, and dialed it for met then handed me the phone.  It was a pretty cool phone, too, that I didn’t know how to use since it was a touch screen model.

IMG_7866Betty got together a care package for me and they both met me at the airport.  We didn’t really get to talk about very many of the meaty subjects in life, but it was sure nice to see them again.  The last time we’d seen each other together was for thanksgiving this past year.

Hey, while you’re looking at the picture, take note of how Cliff’s glasses are hard to see.  They’re pretty discrete really, but then look at the shirt–that’s a ridiculous shirt.  I should have given him some nonsense about the loud shirt, I guess some people like loud clothes. 

IMG_7869Actually, it’s a fine shirt.  My shirt was a UAF sweatshirt that I got at a garage sale.  I’m not sure why I wore a sweatshirt–I’m not really a ‘sweatshirt’ kind of guy.  In the winters, I wear button up shirts (my teacher uniform), and in the summers, I wear second-hand T-shirts from the Salvation Army to work on the boat.  Cliff took the photo, but it was time to go, so we didn’t have time to refine the composition and the focus because my CF card filled up.

Also, look at the dorky light distraction in the background.  Oops.  I have another shot without the distracting light in the background, but I like these smiles better.  Often the first smile is the best–even for people who are quite practiced at smiling.  Note to self: Things in the background of a portrait should never be brighter than the subjects.  Also, take note of the nice lighting; this is thanks to a huge window with soft light coming into the airport, as you can see in the second photo.  I could probably adjust the WB for a warmer feel, but I’ve got other stuff to do right now.

Leave a Reply

