25 Random things

  1. I grew up in a place with no trees: Barrow, Alaska the most northern city (village) in the North American Continent
  2. I now live in a rain forest: Southeast Alaska.
  3. I walk to work 1.24 miles every day no matter what the weather is like.  Mark walks with me.  I do it to save on gas and for the exercise.
  4. My parents spent 2 years in Ethiopia with the Peace Corps, yet remain republican.  I refuse to be either Republican or Democrat, but love to criticize both whenever there is humor to be found.
  5. I have no plans to ever buy an iPod.
  6. We don’t have a TV in the house.  We don’t watch movies.  We do have a wonderful VCR that was given to us.
  7. My name is Matthew and my son’s names are Mark, Luke, and John.  My older brother Jack calls us the gospel brothers.
  8. My current multipurpose laptop is a Dell Inspiron 6400/e1505.  I recently fixed the floppy LCD screen, replaced the keyboard and graduated it to a bigger HD.
  9. My wife Holly was born on Christmas day.  This does not surprise people that have known her for years.  She is beautiful.
  10. We have virtually brand new school in Haines where I teach.
  11. This next year, I want to offer a couple of dual credit math classes through UAS.
  12. If I want more money as a professional photographer, I’m going to either have to start traveling more or move to a bigger city.  I’m shooting a wedding in Sitka in April.
  13. If I’m going to continue to get better as a fisherman, I first need to fish more days in the month of July and start saving up that extra money.  Then I need to invests in more infrastructure, such as a flush deck boat with more capacity.
  14. As a father, I need to put aside my own interests and work on spending more time enjoying the boys and living in the moment with them.
  15. I don’t listen to music very often.  I don’t have a favorite music group.
  16. My dream car would be a used Toyota 4WD Siena Mini-van with a a nice sound system and seating for the whole family plus a couple more kids.  Right now my stand-in dream car is a 1990 Mazda MPV 4WD which seats seven.
  17. My dream photo laptop would be an HP Pavilion 9000v or newer model, with two 320GB 7200RPM drives, 4 GB of RAM 2.6 Ghz core 2 duo processor, a TV tuner, WiFi, and cell phone internet.
  18. My dream laptop for lecturing is an HP 2730p or a motion computing LE1700 with a Core 2 Duo so I could run the projector wirelessly while walking around the room.
  19. My favorite food is Italian food.  I spent the fall semester of 1989 in Florence, Italy and have loved pasta ever since.
  20. I can count to ten in Inupiat which is the native language in the North Slope.  They have a base 20 system with a ridiculous number of syllables per number.
  21. I can still do the Rubik’s Cube in about 80 seconds.
  22. My main camera right now is a Canon 40D and the lens most often on the camera is the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM.
  23. My family lives in an log house with no insulation.
  24. I’m not good at multitasking.
  25. I need to spend less time on the computer.  The boys are starting to squabble, so I need to make them some oatmeal with granola for breakfast.

If you’ve read all that, what you’re supposed to do now is sit down and write down 25 random things about yourself and post it on your blog and also in my comments section.  That way, we get to know each other better.

One Response

  1. Hi Mateo!
    I’m pretty excited. I have never gotten your site to work for me as well as today!! I see I was even able to make a comment that looks like it “went.” So I guess I’ll take up the “25 Random Thoughts” invitation.

    Please keep in mind that I don’t “random” nearly as well as I’d like – maybe I’m a little afraid of it. . .but here goes. . . my biggest, most real thoughts. . . this morning!

    1. Before the worlds were, I was a gleam in my Maker’s eye! He delights in me! He rejoices over me with singing! Awesome! Amazing!!

    2. Maybe that’s why I’d rather sing back to Him than eat or sleep or read or sew or garden or woods-walk or teach an eager learner – all high on my list.

    3. The best, the very best of all is to sing back to Him as a whole family – all of us loud and clear – all somehow knit in an audible rainbow of moving harmony. .

    4. That is a place where God lives. . . and becomes more tangible to me than anywhere else.

    5. Who and what I am and the choices I make today are important. . .no matter how it looks to the folks around . . because of the staggering price that was paid for me.

    6. I will fail. Today and tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow. In a multitude of little ways, and some really big ways too. I’ll get it wrong and do it over and get it wrong, and get it wrong.

    7. And He’ll keep pouring in grace . .grace. . .grace. . . and making it beautiful in the last chapter with glimpses of glory along the way. And sometimes. . . sometimes I’ll get to see some of that grace going on to someone else because I was there!! What a gift!

    8. It got up to 8 degrees on the way in to work this morning – a climb of 3 degrees in the 20 miles to the Extension Office here in southwestern Indiana. Not Barrow, but still chilly enough for 2 pairs of pants.

    9. What a fabulous family! I am so glad I am married to your Dad, Matt! It’s been almost 48 good years and counting.

    10. Remembering when you were all home for Christmas is so great. Your family, you and Holly, Mark Daniel, Luke Michael, and John Caleb tucked away in the slant roof room, John and I looking over the balcony rail at the sleeping bags all over the living room floor – Betty and Cliff surrounded by John Charles, Joy, Buddy, Joanna, Carter, Jessica and Christiane. . .Jack and Jenn with Andy and Rhoda down on the “garden level.” All those names are in my prayers, every morning and more.

    11. Christmas fun for 10 days!! Family Olympics with Touch football in the pasture – watch your step! Capture the Flag (Luke and Mark tied their yellow bands around their waists!), the “Madson ? Games on the big screen, family sings, caroling at the jail. computers all over the place, Gingerbread house “competition” . . . walking down the country road – with the goat! How many birthdays? Joy and Carter on the 22nd, Holly on the 25th, mine on the 26th, and Joanna,s on the 28th. . .missed a few in there probably.

    12. Matt, thank you so much for sharing your life with us in this way.

    13. I love to read some of your “Dad” stories to my Parenting classes. They are always good discussion starters, and a fun way to start a grin going in the group.

    14. The folks always say the family stories from up north and our times together are some of the things they remember when they are making their own family decisions.

    15. Maybe I can get this “comment” to go – seems like I’m a bit “challenged” internet-wise.

    16. This may not have been exactly 25 randoms, but maybe I’m too random for specifics  

    17. Do I get credit even if I don’t get it all done?

    Blesssings,
    Mums

Leave a Reply

