Mazatlán trip (Day 2)

I like the sunrises in Mexico.  We don’t get sunrises or sunsets like that here in Alaska, or in Haines.  This picture was taken with my point and shoot camera from the porch of our hotel room, looking out over the city to the east.  The boys often got up for the sunrise with me. 

IMG_4090e

Was it actually this pretty to the naked eye?  No.  I underexposed the photo until I got what I liked.  It got more yellow the more I underexposed it.  This shot is straight out of the camera though.  When shooting gradual colors like this it is important to shoot in RAW, as JPEGs tend to do poorly with large swaths of sky in any near homogeneous color.

IMG_4137  Today the plan was to go to Sam’s Club to buy supplies again, then do a dispensa in the morning at a Francesco I Madero, to coincide with the carnival games of the Iowa team who were on their last day in Haines.

Then take a break for lunch and close of the evening with the mobile kitchen and the mobile school at another colonia (neighborhood) at Aztea, where there is still no building.  We took this van in the morning to head out to the church with our supplies after the stop in Sam’s Club.  it’s a nice sturdy van which is much like the 24-7 shuttles the hotels use near major airports. 

Jorge, on the left below in the green shirt was the driver in the morning, but transformed into a multi-talented one man traveling puppet show, guitar player, DJ, sound man, singer, dance leader, PE teacher in the evening.  He is gifted and is a hard worker for the lord.

IMG_4141

IMG_4192 The Iowa group did the carnival games in the gymnasium, which consisted of multiple throwing games with prizes for the winners and actually greatly resembled our harvest festival, which the local churches in Haines do for the local kids on Halloween.  There was no need for the mobile kitchen at this church because they have a commercial kitchen and lockable storage rooms already. 

Many of the Churches buildings are built like this with a concrete floor, steel superstructure, cement walls, tin roof and upper walls.  Along the sides of the church they keep the furniture (chairs and tables).  A local company builds the girders and brings them to the site and assembles them.

IMG_4199

While the Carnival was going on with the kids, Shannon Green, my folks, Jorge, and I were doing the dispensa from the van.  My folks had bible to distribute. 

IMG_4203The dispensa went really well until one lady decided she wanted to get four bags instead of one, because her three daughters were all off working somewhere.  I eventually just took her three tickets and she smiled, then I gave the three bags to three other women who hadn’t gotten any bags, then she went through the roof!  She set down her bag and gave me a barrage of spanish I had no hope of understanding. 

IMG_4215 Shannon was in the van giving me the bags one at a time and said to me, I’m glad it’s you out there instead of me!  While she was giving me an earful, someone in line behind her sneaked up behind her and quietly took her bag.  I have to admit, I was actually kind of thankful for that.

IMG_4204

I’ll write more about the evening later.  What I really need to do is load up some of the videos I took, as that really gets the color and life a lot more than the pictures and words.

2 Responses

  1. Glad to see that you enjoyed your trip! I’m sorry about the lady that tried to cheat and yelled at you. Unfortunately as fair as we try to be, that happens all too often!

  2. Ellen, we had a wonderful time down in Mazatlan. Thanks for working with us and organizing everything for us so that we could go down there and help you and your church with your ministry. I still need to find some time to go through the rest of the photos and do two more posts.

    Life is busy here, but I’ll get around to it soon.

Leave a Reply

