Too many Pictures

Sunday, May 28, 2006

So, I had a parent tell me tonight that there really are too many pictures on my site.  And honestly I had to agree.  She said she really just couldn’t look at them all, and I had to agree, there are just too many pictures to look at.  She said sometimes she starts too look at them and just gets discouraged, and I had to agree with her, “Yeah, I said I wouldn’t look at them all either.”


It was an interesting conversation.  Really, I do know there are a lot of pictures there, but to be honest, people buy the oddest pictures–pictures that I’d never have thought people would buy.  She was wondering how many I’ve sold like that, since it’s such a pain to look through them, and I had to tell her the truth: I’ve sold about 8500 photos in the last year and a quarter on shutterfly.

It would be nice if there were an easy way to organize the pictures in a cost effective way.  I can’t think of a good one right now.

Here’s a site that sells event photos of marathon runners: http://www.marathon-photos.com/index.html but take note of their prices which start at 14.95.  I really don’t think that is my market.


I do hope that people interested in my photos will find it is enjoyable to look at them, but know that sometimes that’s not the case.  At really fun events, often I look at the pictures numerous times and enjoy them each time.  This was definitely the case with the 12th night pictures and also with the weddings I’ve shot recently, and it’s true of pictures of my boys and family trips on which we’ve been (plus I have a lot of pictures of Holly).  It is these types of events that are really the most fun to photograph, the ones where the pictures bring back the memories and keep them fresh in the mind.  I like that (when I have the time–which I don’t have right now).

What I really like to do is design photo albums for these special types of events-but this type of product is inherently expensive with the genuine leather cover and the archival, acid-free paper, to say nothing of the color balanced and clean images I have to take in order to make the albums look nice.  What I really like about them is the finished product, that just smacks of quality from beginning to end.  I pick up the book and I can tell it’s a work of art.

Some albums I’m going to make when I get the time are: A Cheer/Dance album, and a Cross Country album of the 2005 season.  I will definitely make time for the wedding that’s coming up, and hope to have a link to it here on the blog.

By the way, blog is short for Web-Log.

Leave a Reply

